IDAHO CITY TO BOISE


39 miles? This was a joke. We woke up at 8 and made pancakes and really took our time in the morning before setting off on one of our shortest rides yet. We stopped about halfway at a lake that was gorgeous, and spent hours swimming and laying out and enjoying the random break on our ride.

Picture
Lucky Peak Lake

Of course right after the lake there was a mile long climb but Jake and Zack's freestyle rapping got me through it, on to the awesome descent into Boise. We met a fellow cyclist named Anthony who showed us the bike path into the city, and directed my teammates to Taco Bell (I chose Whole Foods because hello, salad bar).

Picture
Bike selfies with Jake

After arriving at the host a few of us went exploring downtown Boise, our usual stops included book stores and coffee shops, with a nap in the park as well. We got Mexican food and then went out to hear some local music, a band that did covers from Fun to Jack White. They were really good, but then we found out the bar had a basement, and went to explore down there only to discover Mr. P Chill, the worst rapper of all time.


We danced to his incredibly offensive raps for some time, and then decided this was just too ridiculous and headed back to the host. 

Picture
Mike naps at the host in Boise

DAY OFF IN BOISE


This day off started out with a 3 mile run and workout at the YMCA, but after that it was truly a day off. I journaled in the coffee shop, went to see a movie, and listened to live music outdoors. A very relaxing day, but not totally unproductive, since I cleaned my bike for the first time since Indiana. 


BOISE TO ONTARIO, OREGON!!


Today we crossed into our last state. I can't believe there's just over a week left! The ride was only 60 miles so for the first 15 we pretty much all rode together, then I took a really long lunch so I rode out with a big group that stopped a lot and was in no rush. We met up with some teammates at the state sign before going to McDonalds and back to the host.

Picture
Here I yam

I got an incredible package from my second family- the Gallaghers- with some amazing haikus by the one and only Nan Gallagher (here's your shout out-you win!!).

Picture
Nan's kindergarten sticker collection on my package

Tally:

States: 13!

Miles: 3,289 

Beautiful lake beaches: 1

Number of riders that passed Mike on the descent: 4 (he was so pissed)

Horrible rappers encouraged by our dancing/laughing: 2

Donations received purely based on our tan lines: 2

Number of people that said I have an "east coast vibe": 1 (what does this mean?)

Cathy Howard
8/1/2013 01:31:27 pm

So glad you got the package. Sorry the brownies did not make it - long story. Wow. You are in Oregon. I hope you go by the Hood River and see the wind surfers - they are amazing. You will really have to tell us more about the Prom when you get home. I liked the potato sack , maybe they ould buy that at Rumors. Have a great ride through your final state!! Love "second Mom"

Reply
G'ma Glenna
8/2/2013 02:44:23 am

We've been following your trip. SO glad you are having such an awesome time.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    The chronicles of my cross-country bike adventure. 

    Archives

    No Archives

    Categories

    All